PGA Grand Slam of Golf

The most exclusive event in golf.

From 1994-2006, Poipu Bay Golf Course played host to the annual PGA Grand Slam of Golf, one of the most prestigious competitions in the golf world. The PGA Grand Slam of Golf, established in 1979, has the most difficult entry requirement of any event in golf. Each year the PGA of America invites only the winners of the four major championships—the Masters, the U.S. Open, the British Open, and the PGA Championship—to compete in the event.

The PGA Grand Slam of Golf is a 36-hole stroke-play event conducted over two days, with the four players vying for a purse of well over a million dollars. Over the years, the most prominent names in golf have graced the greens at Poipu Bay during this event, including such golfing greats as: Tiger Woods, Phil Mickelson, Vijay Singh, Retief Goosen, Justin Leonard, Davis Love III, David Duval, Tom Lehman, Paul Azinger, Jose Maria Olazabal, Ernie Els, Mark O’Meara and Greg Norman.

Bringing out the best of the best.

The PGA Grand Slam is always exciting, and the play often proves to be astounding, even by the players’ own standards. In the 1997 event, Tiger Woods executed an incredible sand shot on Poipu Bay’s signature 16th hole, a shot he has described as “one of the best I’ve ever played in my life.” When Woods saw his ball buried in wet sand on a severe down slope in a greenside bunker, he said “I thought I was a dead man.” Woods tried what he describes as a “100 to 1 shot,” he lifted his club straight into the air and came down into the sand like an axe. The ball shot forward, hit the grass embankment, jumped straight up into the air and continued forward, stopping two feet from the hole. Woods knocked the putt in for what he calls “one of the best pars of my life.” In 2003, T&L Golf magazine ranked it as one of the “Top Ten Best Shots” of Woods’ career.

Tiger Woods returned to the PGA Grand Slam of Golf to set an event record by taking first place in the competition for five consecutive years, from 1998 through 2002. In the 2004 event, Phil Mickelson set a course and event record with a stunning 13-under-par 59 on the final day, walking away with the first place pot of $400,000. Tiger Woods won the final two events at Poipu Bay in 2005 & 2006.

PGA Grand Slam of Golf
Champions 1994-2006

  • 1994 — Greg Norman
  • 1995 — Ben Crenshaw
  • 1996 — Tom Lehman
  • 1997 — Ernie Els
  • 1998 — Tiger Woods
  • 1999 — Tiger Woods
  • 2000 — Tiger Woods
  • 2001 — Tiger Woods
  • 2002 — Tiger Woods
  • 2003 — Jim Furyk
  • 2004 — Phil Mickelson
  • 2005 — Tiger Woods
  • 2006 — Tiger Woods

site features
Course Overview »
Hole by Hole Tour »
The Resort »
Tee Time & Rates »
Golf Specials »

Jim Furyk (2003) Phil Mikelson (2004) Tiger Woods (2005)